MATS MINI EXERCISE – shoes

I promised you another exercise from the ‘MATS mini assignment archive’. Shoes!

The exercise was about drawing your shoes for no longer than approx. 15 minutes. I decided to do it all in watercolour, the same I used for the other mini. Just to have another go on the material I normally never work with.

This is where I came up with:

MF-clarks

MF-timbers

MF-vans

MF-zwarte-nikes

MF-rode-nikes

I actually liked this exercise/experiment a lot, learned a bit more about watercolour and about myself: I’m not patient enough with watercolours… I wanted to rush over it till I’ve the whole shoe on paper, so thoughtful detailed lines and perfect dark shoe-insides won’t be found here…

The watercolours I used aren’t the best either. I shot these photos the same evening I painted them, pages still wet while sticking them on my wall…. (you know, not that patient…) The following day the paint dried up very flat and cloudy….

Leave a Reply

